ICA has formed various committees to look after various issues and verticals pertaining to mobile industry. These include:

  • Committee on Skill Development – Primary objective of this Committee is to help establish an ecosystem which ensures the availability of right skilled personnel in the mobile handsets’ segment. Lt Gen (Dr) SP Kochhar has been proposed to be chair man of this Committee.
  • Committee on EMF & Health – Committee seeks to bring transparency on EMF, spread true scientific research and studies related to EMF and its impact on consumers’ health. Committee also counters motivated propaganda to discredit the mobile industry. Members of this committee include: Mr Sandeep Bhargava, Director – Corporate Affairs, Microsoft as Chairman; Mr Michael Milligan, Secretary General, MMF as Co-chairman; and Mr Rishi Chawla, General Manager, Corporate Relations, Samsung.
  • Committee on Direct Taxes – Issues pertaining to direct taxes would be identified, analyzed and taken up by the committee with the appropriate ministries (MOF and DeitY). Mr PM Prasad, IRS (retd)is the Co-chairman of this Committee.
  • Committee on Indirect Taxation – Issues related to VAT / implementation of GST, central excise, customs, classification etc. and regulatory liaisoning pertaining to these would be the core activities of this committee. The committee works towards establishment of a rationale and favorable indirect tax regime for the mobile handset Industry. Mr Gautam Ray, IRS (Retd) is the Co-chairman of the Committee.
  • Committee on ESDM & Investment Promotion – The committee would liaison with DeitY, State Governments and other relevant stakeholders to provide regulatory support to Industry on issues faced on account of investments in the ESDM sector.
  • Committee on Standards –The committee advises the Government regarding the need to develop technical standards on mobile eco-system and also addresses challenges pertaining to grey / parallel / counterfeit products infiltrating into the country. The Committee is chaired by Mr Sandeep Bhargava, Director – Government Relations, Microsoft Devices and Mr Praveen Gondane, Associate Director – Standards, ICA is the Convener.
  • Other Committees.